abouthate crimesprogramsvictims assistpublicationsresourceszerohournewseventscontact

John Anson Ford Awards: Past Recipients

John Anson Ford Individual Awardees

1972 Rabbi Alfred Wolf, Ph.D.
1973 No Award Given
1974 Catherine G. Stern
1975 Dr. Julian Keiser
1976 Dr. H. Claude Hudson
1977 Rose Lopez
1978 Mayor Tom Bradley
1979 The Most Rev. Juan Arizube
1980 John A. Buggs
1981 Ami Ishi (posthumous)
1994 No Award Given
1995 Mel Collins
1996 Mona Beth Loo
1997 Gary Mast
1998 Albert Y. Muratsuchi
John Anson Ford Corporate Awardees
1982 Ralph Parsons
1983 Atlantic Richfield Company
1984 Southern California Gas Co.
1985 Boy's Market, Inc.
1986 Rainbow Plastics
1987 Southern California Edison Co.
1988 Pacific Bell
1989 David R. Barclay, Hughes Aircraft
1990 7UP/RC Bottling Company
1991 Kaiser Permanente
1992 No Award Given
1993 First Federal Bank
1994 No Award Given
1995 Paramount Pictures
1996 Nordstrom
1997 Toyota Motor Sales
1998 Bank of America

John Anson Ford Media News/Entertainment Awardees

1982 Los Angeles Times Editorial Staff Writers
1983 KCET/Channel 28
1984 La Opinion
1985 The Pacific Citizen
1986 The Daily News
1987 KTLA Community Affairs
Dr. Roger A. Hendrix, KBIG
1988 Marilyn Solomon, KCOP
1989 Joseph Dyer, KCBS
1990 KSCI-TV, Channel 18
1991 Michael Jackson, KABC Radio
1992 Huell Howser, KCET
K.W. Lee, Korea Times
1993 Mario Machado
1994 No Award Given
1995 Larry McCormick, KTLA
KCET "Puzzle Place" Production
KCET "Life and Times" Production
1996 George Nicholaw, KNX Radio
USA Networks
1997 KCRW 89.9 FM (Media/News Award)
KKBT 92.3 FM (Media/Radio Award)
KTTV, Channel 11 (Media/TV Award)
AnaMaria Buranasakorn (Media/TV Award)
1998 Community Newspaper Council /
Annenberg School of Communications, USC (Media/News)
1998 Norine Dresser (Media)

John Anson Ford Professional Awardees

1982 Vilma Martinez
1983 Rita Walters
1984 Jerry Freedman Habush
1985 Nancy Mintie
1986 National Conference of Christians and Jews
1987 Jo Bonita Perez
1988 Dolores Ratcliffe
1989 Dr. Neil Sandberg
1990 Alice Petrossian
1991 Linda Wong
Joan Pinchuk
1992 Stewart Kwoh
Vicki Tamoush
1993 Rodney Mitchell

John Anson Ford Volunteer Awardees

1982 Inola Henry
1983 Ruth Z. Casselman
1984 Frances G. Dyer
1985 Rafer Johnson
Rev. George Van Alstine
1986 Richard Giesberg
1987 Women of Color, Inc.
1988 Juanita & Jose De Sosa
1989 Domingo Delgado
Casey Kasem
1990 Dr. Alex Norman
Leo Trujillo
1991 Naomi Rainey
Frank Villalobos
1992 Janel Baszile and Lea Ann King
Victor Franco & Giselle Acevedo Franco
1993 Marina Tse
West Adams Heritage Assoc.

John Anson Ford Special Recognition Awardees

1982 No Award Given
1983 Frank Baird-Smith (posthumous)
1984 No Award Given
1985 No Award Given
1986 Alex Odeh (posthumous)
1987 The Right Rev. Oliver B. Garver
1988 Sunset Junction Neighborhood Alliance
Joe Roos
1989 KCET, Channel 28
Anti-Defamation League
Los Angeles Times
1990 Dr. Julian J. Keiser
Rabbi Alfred Wolf, Ph.D.
Chief David J. Thompson and the Glendale Police Department
1991 Robert Jones
1992 Edward James Olmos
1994 No Award Given
1995 Steven Windmueller, Ph.D.
Reverend Monsignor Royale M. Vadakin
1996 John Slaughter, Ph.D.
Dr. Haing Ngor (posthumous)
1997 Al Martinez (John Allen Buggs Award)
1998 William J. Rosendahl (John Allen Buggs Award)

John Anson Ford Outstanding Programs

1992 Hate Crime Prosecution Team of the Anti-Terrorist
Unit of the District Attorney's Office
Multicultural Issues Panel of the Southern California
Gas Company
1993 Syd Kronenthal

John Anson Ford Higher Education Awardees

1995 Jaime A. Regalado, Ph.D. and the Edmund G. "Pat" Brown Institute of Public Affairs
Eui-Young Yu, Ph.D. and Edward T. Chang, Ph.D.
1996 Howard Gadlin, Ph.D., Director, UCLA Conflict Mediation Program
1997 Dr. Blenda Wilson, Ph.D.& Cal State, Northridge

John Anson Ford School, K-12 Awardees

1995 Cleveland High School
1996 Los Angeles Unified School District Office of Intergroup Relations
1997 "Children of the Dream" Program
1998 North High School - Torrance, California

John Anson Ford Government/Municipal Awardees

1995 Glendale Community Relations Coalition
1996 Captain Jack Scully, Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department
1997 Harmony Month Committee / City of Monterey Park
1998 Antelope Valley Human Relations Task Force

John Anson Ford Organization Awardees

1995 Burbank Human Relations Council
1996 California Community Foundation
Community Conflict Resolution
1997 Harbor Gateway Human Relations
Steering Committee
1998 Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights of L.A. (CHIRLA)

John Anson Ford Arts Awardees

1996 Harold Williams, President, The J. Paul Getty Trust
1997 "Voices Against Violence" North
1998 Victoria Ann Lewis / The Other Voices Project, Mark Taper Forum

John Anson Ford Sports Awardees

1995 HOLA - Heart of Los Angeles Youth

1999 John Anson Ford Awardees

Michael P. Judge, Los Angeles County Chief Public Defender - First District
Facing History and Ourselves, Dan Alba, Program Director - Second District
Timothy H. Saner, Manager of Diversity, The Boeing Company - Third District
The Conflict Resolution Program of the Torrance Unified School District, Arnold Plank, Superintendent of Schools - Fourth District
Kevin Uhrich, Journalist - Fifth District

2000 John Anson Ford Awardees

YWCA of Greater Los Angeles - First District
Cornerstone Theater Company - Second District
Ishmael Ileto & the Ileto Family - Third District
Eugene Lentzner - Fourth District
Bruce Galler, Challenger Middle School - Fifth District

2001 John Anson Ford Awardees

Captain Karen Pihlak, Azusa Police Department- First District
Foshay Peer Mediation Program- Second District
Youth Organizing Communities- Third District
Heather Green, Mural Arts Program, City of Long Beach Department of Public Works - Fourth District
Harambee Christian Family Center- Fifth District

2002 John Anson Ford Awardees

Project 10- First District
Community Coalition - South Central Youth Empowered Through Action- Second District
House of Blues- Third District
South Asian Network- Fourth District
San Fernando Valley Interfaith Council- Fifth District
Courage Award
Ms. Patricia Arquette
Corporate Award
Southern California Edison
John Allen Buggs Leadership Award
Ms. Constance Rice

John Allen Buggs Award

Stephen N. Thom, Community Relations Service, U.S. Department of Justice

back to top


About the Awards

• Hate Crime Victim    Assistance
• Network Against Hate Crime
• Racialized Gang Violence Prevention Initiative
• zerohour: No Haters Here!
• Teens Make A Difference Day
• John Anson Ford Awards
• Training Program